Nano-CC-UFF

Working groups

Working Group 2 Novel components

Logo Nanotechnologie



Novel components
pic/s05-ak02-i01.jpg

REM-image of a metal cluster between electrode tips.
(Photograph: TU Chemnitz)

 

The continuing trend towards miniaturization of integrated circuits has given rise to increasing efforts to supplement and gradually replace conventional CMOS-technologies by nano-technologies and nano-electronics in near future. The latter include magneto-electronics, and single-electron devices, nano-cluster storage elements, and resonant tunneling elements, among others.

Magnetoelectronics is based on the concept of replacing semiconductor magnetic field sensors (Hall sensors) in multi-layer systems by Giant Magneto Resistance (GMR) sensors, and CMOS memories by persistent magnetic memories (M-RAMS). For this purpose it is necessary to deposit stacks of extremely thin metallic and insulating films of about 1nm thickness with well defined interfaces.

There is a new generation of novel components based on the transfer of individual electrons in nano-scale structures. Work centers on memory elements based on the transfer of individual electrons between metal electrodes and on the memory effect of semiconductor nano-clusters in SiO² films.


Head of the working group:

Prof. Dr. Christian Radehaus

Technische Universität Chemnitz
,
Zentrum für Mikrotechnologien
,
Reichenhainer Straße 70, 09126 Chemnitz
,
Phone 0371 / 531 30 86
,
Fax 0371 / 531 30 04


Deutsch

Search

Impressum


©  Nano-CC-UFF 2010 Contact:
Office of Center of Competence "Ultrathin Functional Films"
at Fraunhofer IWS Dresden
Dr. Ralf Jäckel
Mail: ralf.jaeckel@iws.fraunhofer.de
Phone +49 (0) 351 / 83391 - 3444, Fax +49 (0) 351 / 83391 - 3300

Nano-CC-UFS

Arbeitskreise im Nano-CC-UFS

Arbeitskreis 2 Neuartige Bauelemente

Logo Nanotechnologie



Neuartige Bauelemente
pic/s05-ak02-i01.jpg

REM-Aufnahme eines Metallclusters zwischen zwei Kontaktspitzen
(Foto: TU Chemnitz)

 

Die fortschreitende Miniaturisierung von hochintegrierten Schaltkreisen haben weltweit die Anstrengungen verstärkt, konventionelle CMOS-Technologien in naher Zukunft durch Nanotechnologien und Nanoelektronik zu ergänzen bzw. schrittweise zu ersetzen. Zu diesen Technologien gehören u.a. die Magnetoelektronik und Einzelelektronik (incl. Nanoclusterspeicher und resonante Tunnelbauelemente).

Bei der Magnetoelektronik sollen mit Hilfe des Riesenmagnetowiderstandes (Giant Magneto Resistance, GMR) in magnetischen Vielschichtsystemen halbleitende Magnetfeldsensoren (Hallsensoren) durch GMR-Sensoren und CMOS-Speicher durch nichtflüchtige magnetische Speicher (M-RAMS) ersetzt werden. Für diese Bauelemente ist es notwendig, eine Schichtfolge extrem dünner Metall- und Isolatorschichten (Einzelschichtdicke: ca. 1 nm) kontrolliert abzuscheiden und die Beschaffenheit der Grenzflächen gezielt einzustellen.

Eine neue Generation von Bauelementen beruht auf Effekten des Ladungstransfers einzelner oder weniger Elektronen in nanoskaligen Strukturen (Einzelelektronik). Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten bilden Speicherelemente, die durch Ladungstransfer einzelner Elektronen zwischen metallischen Bereichen realisiert werden oder die Speichereigenschaften von Halbleiternanoclustern in dünnen SiO² - Schichten nutzen.


Leiter des Arbeitskreises:

Prof. Dr. Christian Radehaus

Technische Universität Chemnitz
,
Zentrum für Mikrotechnologien
,
Reichenhainer Straße 70, 09126 Chemnitz
,
Tel.: 0371 / 531 30 86
,
Fax: 0371 / 531 30 04


English

Suchen

Impressum


©  Nano-CC-UFS 2010 Kontakt:
Geschäftsstelle des Nano-CC-UFS
im Fraunhofer IWS Dresden
Dr. Ralf Jäckel
Mail: ralf.jaeckel@iws.fraunhofer.de
Tel. +49 (0) 351 / 83391 - 3444, Fax +49 (0) 351 / 83391 - 3300